First DoubleTree by Hilton in Ireland Welcomes Guests

The Morrison Dublin, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel, has opened in Ireland, bringing the upmarket, Doubletree, hotel brand to Ireland for the first time.

Hilton Worldwide, the brand owner, had earlier entered into a franchise agreement with the owners of the existing Morrison Hotel in Dublin, and the new hotel has been converted from the 138-room property with the completion of a €7 million refurbishment.

Martinez Hotels and Resorts will operate the new hotel.

The UK and Ireland director for Martinez Hotels and Resorts, Stephen Mulligan, said, ‘We set out with a very ambitious timeline for this project so we’re delighted to be opening the hotel on schedule and with the support of our new partners, Hilton Worldwide. The refurbishment coincides with a busier than normal event calendar for Ireland this year, and we believe the reopening will not only benefit the long term patrons of the Morrison, but will also contribute to the vibrancy of this up-and-coming part of Dublin.’

The Morrison, is located on Lower Ormond Quay, in Dublin’s city centre, and is close to the Templebar, Jervis Street and Henry Street shopping and dining areas. The hotel amenities include a split level, 24-hour fitness centre, on-site dining at The Morrison Grill and Quay 14 bar, flexible meeting space, complimentary high-speed internet access and a 24-hour business centre.

John Greenleaf, the global head for DoubleTree by Hilton, said, ‘This hotel is a fabulous representation of what our brand is all about. I’m thrilled with the work Nikki O’Donnell has done in bringing to life the essence of Ireland’s rich culture through such a stylish, sophisticated design. Guests will experience a taste of the city’s Celtic heritage and modern vibrancy while enjoying the signature DoubleTree by Hilton touches that we know appeal to travelers across Europe – all starting of course with the trademark warm chocolate chip cookie served upon check in.’

Hilton Worldwide is currently operating four hotels in the Republic of Ireland, all located in the Irish capital.