New travel writing award launched

A new award is being launched for travel writers in 2014, publishers Frances Lincoln and The Wainwright Society have announced a new annual literary prize for Nature and Travel Writing, according to a report by The Telegraph.

Organised in association with The National Trust, the new Thwaites Wainwright Prize sets out to ‘reward the best writing on the general outdoors, nature and UK-based travel writing.’

Submissions for the prize can be narrative or illustrated non-fiction. While the contest will be open to writers from around the world, the main focus of the book should be the British countryside.

£5,000 will be awarded to the writer of the winning book. The judging panel will be chaired by Dame Fiona Reynolds, a former director-general of The National Trust, and will feature representatives from Countryfile Magazine, Stanfords, The Wainwright Society and The National Trust.

Andrew Dunn of Frances Lincoln said: ‘Alfred Wainwright’s books have inspired generations of walkers, and shown countless readers a new way to see the British landscape.

‘We are proud to announce The Wainwright Prize for UK Nature & Travel Writing, recognising new books which will become classics of nature and travel writing in their turn.’

Sam Shone, head of marketing at Aurum Publishing Group, said: ‘This fantastic prize will not only raise the profile of British outdoors and nature writing but also introduce a new generation of fans to the Wainwright brand. Alongside the prize, we will be launching a new online home for Wainwright, where walkers can find out all they need to know in order to enjoy some of the best walks in the British countryside.’

Steve Magnall, managing director of Thwaites Brewery, said: ‘Thwaites is proud to be working with the Wainwright Estate and Frances Lincoln Publishers to sponsor the Wainwright Prize for Nature & Travel Writing, which perfectly captures our shared love of the British Outdoors.’

Submissions can be made at before the closing date of January 13, 2014. Following a shortlist notification in April 2014 at The London Book Fair, the winner will be announced in London on May 8, 2014.